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Review the annual report from

HLL. How are its marketing


investments and initiatives
aff ecting its profi tability? What
conclusions can you draw from
HLLs progress?

NAME:POTHANNASETTI KATTAMURI
ROLL NUMBER: 16331E0046
CONTENT
M A R K E T I N G B U D G E T
R E T U R N O N M A R K E T I N G I N V E S T M E N T
C O M PA N Y P R O F I L E
H U L M A R K E T I N G S T R AT E G I E S & A D V E R T I S I M E N T S A N D
INCOME TREND
H U L M A R K E T I N G I N V E S T M E N T S V S S A L E S A N D I N C O M E
R E F E R E N C E
MARKETING BUDGET
Most people in business understand the importance of creating a modern corporate identity. This includes a
good logo, website, and other marketing materials. After these basics are met, however, many companies
fail to follow through with a strategy to improve their online presence. They might think that by not spending
money on marketing, theyre saving money. In reality, they are losing out on a huge resource for new
business.
A well-defined marketing budget helps you measure and manage what you invest in acquiring new
customers and reconnecting with existing ones. It can also help you identify opportunities to optimize the
tactics that result in the most bang for your marketing buck.
Unfortunately, there is no easy answer to this question, because it depends on your businesss size and type
of industry. In general, companies are told to spend between 2% and 10% of net sales. Some spend up to
20% of sales, but the average is between 4-6%.
Typical general are Advertising agency commissions, Salaries for marketing managers ,Salaries for marketing
support e.g. marketing assistants, Office space, Fixtures and fittings, Travel costs, Other direct and indirect
marketing costs, including marketing communications costs, Personal Selling, Public Relations, Printing,
Mailing, Website Development & Hosting, Television Advertising, Radio Advertising, Direct Marketing,
Newspaper Advertising, Networking, Event Attendance, Sales Promotion.
RETURN ON MARKETING
INVESTMENT
The Return on Marketing Investment measures how much revenue a marketing campaign is
generating compared to the cost of running that campaign. Effective marketers are driven
to connect their time, energy and advertising spend with results that contribute to company
growth. In simple terms, it is measured by calculating total revenues against marketing
investment. It is also called as Return on Advertising Spend in EU.ROI AND ROAS or ROMI
both are different.
However ROAS is aimed specifically to determine whether a specific advertising campaign
was profitable or not. On the other hand ROI is a metric which determines whether a
company, as a whole (that is including salaries, time spent, cost of website and so on)
managed to generate a good margin a profit from what it has invested. Thus, in my opinion
ROAS is the metric to check if you want a successful campaign in the future.
Lets say we have a company that averages 4% organic sales growth and they run a
$10,000 campaign for a month. The sales growth for that month is $15,000. The calculation
goes: Return on Marketing Investment = [($15,000 - $10,000) / $10,000)] x 100= 50%
COMPANY PROFILE
CEO: Sanjiv Mehta (10 Oct 2013)

Headquarters: Mumbai

Revenue: 319.9 billion INR (US$4.9 billion, 20152016)

Founded: 17 October 1933

Parent organizations: Unilever, Unilever plc

Founders: Lever Brothers, Hindustan Vanaspati Mfg. Co. Ltd., United Traders Ltd.

Products: Foods, cleaning agents personal care products and water purifiers.

Internet : http://www.hul.co.in
HUL MARKETING
S T R AT E G I E S & A D V E RT I S I M E N T S A N D
INCOME TREND
Pushing consumer for more Usage
Competitive and compelling Communication
Highlighting Benefits
Focus on short supply chain distribution
To meet every need of people everywhere
Betting on big stars for advertising
Increase the consumption in rural market
Increase the investment in digital market
Highlighting Benefits Leveraging Information
Technology.
HUL MARKETING INVESTMENTS VS SALES
AND INCOME
400,000.00
350,000.00
300,000.00
250,000.00
200,000.00
150,000.00
100,000.00
50,000.00
0.00

Dec-06 Dec-07 Mar-09 Mar-10 Mar-11 Mar-12 Mar-13 Mar-14 Mar-15 Mar-16
REFERENCE
http://www.marketingteacher.com/marketing-budget/
https://
www.linkedin.com/pulse/importance-marketing-budget-how-make-most-yours-ross-hadley
https://www.slideshare.net/anandsubramaniam/marketing-performance-profitability
https://
www.klipfolio.com/resources/kpi-examples/digital-marketing/return-on-marketing-investment
https://prowessiq.cmie.com
https://hul.co.in

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